PICTURE OF THE DAY: London Premiere of HORROR OF DRACULA (1958)

Dracula1958PICTURE OF THE DAY

Here’s a photo I found online of the London premiere of DRACULA (HORROR OF DRACULA here in the United States) in 1958.

If I had a time machine, this is definitely one of the events I’d attend.  I’d also go to the New York City premiere, an event attended by both Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee who were there signing autographs.  Ah, the good old days!

I would love to have seen the artwork and promotional materials shown in this picture in person and in color.  It reminds me of some of the old fashioned monster houses from amusement parks of yesteryear.

Yep, my heart melts with nostalgia when I look at this photo.  Anyone out there who attended this premiere in person?  Love to hear from you if you did.

In the meantime, I’ll keep seeing movies in cinema multiplexes here in the 21st century.  At least there’s still popcorn.

—Michael

Leave a Reply

